

## 25<sup>TH</sup> ORDINARY MEETING OF THE ASSEMBLY OF THE ASSOCIATION OF AFRICAN CENTRAL BANK (AACB) GOVERNORS JOHANNESBURG, SOUTH AFRICA 16 AUGUST 2001

## LIST OF DECISIONS

The Assembly of Governors of the Association of African Central Banks held its 25<sup>th</sup> Ordinary Meeting in Johannesburg, South Africa on 16 August 2001. The meeting was opened by His Excellency, Mr T M Mbeki, President of the Republic of South Africa. Mr T T Mboweni, Governor, South African Reserve Bank was elected Chairperson of the Association, while Mr M M Laksaci, Governor, Banque d'Algeria was elected Vice-Chairperson.

At the end of the deliberations, the Assembly of Governors agreed as follows:

- The report of the 24<sup>th</sup> Ordinary meeting held in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania on 11
  August 2000 and the 25<sup>th</sup> Extra-Ordinary Meeting held in Prague, the Czech
  Republic on 25 September 2000 was adopted.
- Considered and noted the report of the Technical Committee on the African Monetary Co-operation, and decided to discuss the report at country level with relevant authorities. The need to harmonize the report with the New African Initiative programme was also underscored.
- Proposed to have a permanent secretariat to be located at Banque Centrale Des
  Etats De L'Afrique de L'Ouest (BCEAO) in Dakar Senegal. Funding of the
  Secretariat will be borne by the host central bank but the AACB will re-imburse the
  costs.
- Decided to pass the matter of transfer and administration of the assets of liquidated
   African Centre for Monetary Studies (ACMS) to the new Secretariat.

- Accepted in principle, the proposed amendments on the Statutes, subject to ratification at the next AACB meeting. In the meantime, the document should be reviewed by legal experts.
- On AACB governance, the meeting mandated the Eastern and Southern sub-region committee to consider suitable restructuring of the region.
- That the Bureau will make a decision on the themes for next year's symposium as well as the venue for the 26<sup>th</sup> Ordinary Meeting of the AACB to be held in August 2002.

- Vijouieu

T T MBOWENI

CHAIRPERSON

ASSOCIATION OF AFRICAN CENTRAL BANKS (AACB)

16 August 2001

## LIST OF GOVERNORS AND OFFICIALS AT THE MEETING OF THE ASSOCIATION OF AFRICAN CENTRAL BANK GOVERNORS 16 AUGUST 2001, SOUTH AFRICA

ME OF CENTRAL BANK	NAME	DESIGNATION
nco Nacional de Angola	Mr A Pinto	Executive Director
	Mr A B Passi	Deputy Director
ank of Botswana ?	Mrs Linah K Mohohlo	Governor
	Mr Joe Selwe	Special Assistant to Governor
	Mr Chepete Chepete	Senior Economist
	Mr M D Pelaelo (Symposium only)	Director: Banking Supervision
Bank of Eritrea	Mr Tekei Beyene	Governor
	Mr Ternesgen Gebremariam	Manager: Economies and Statistics
Bank of Ghana	Mr E Asiedu-Mante	Deputy Governor
	Mr Kassim Yahya	Head: Research Department
Bank of Namibia	Mr T K Alweendo	Governor
	Mr E Kaakunga	Senior Economist
Bank of Sierra Leone	Mr James S Koroma	Governor
	Mr K S T Kally	Deputy Director, General Services Department
	Mrs Grace Hassan	Deputy Director, Banking Department
Bank of Sudan	Dr Abdel Moniem Mahmoud Mohamed El Qusi	First Deputy Governor
	Mr Abdalla Hussein Mohd Elamin	Director of Research
	Mr Abdel Rahman Mohamed	Economist
Bank of Tanzania	Mr D T S Ballali	Governor
	Mr P M Noni	Director
	Mr A J Liyumba	Director

IME OF CENTRAL BANK	NAME	DESIGNATION
	Mr J S Mhando	Director
	Mr J Kimaro	Deputy Director
	Mrs C L Kiliaki	Deputy Director
	Mr S K Mrutu	Deputy Director
	Mr A V Haule	Deputy Director
ank of Uganda	Mr E Tumusiime-Mutebile	Governor
Sank of Zambia	Dr Abraham Mwenda	Deputy Governor: Operations
	Mr Peter Banda	Director - Financial Markets
Banque Centrale de la Republique de Guinee Guinea)	Mr Ibrahima Cherif Bah	Governor
Banque d' Algerie (Algeria)	Mr M Mohammed Laksaci	Governor
	Mr F Tiaiba	Secretary of the Council of Money and Credit
Banque Centrale de Madagascar	Mr M Gaston Edouard Ravelojaona	Governor
	Mr Henri B Razakariasa	Directeur du Crédit
Banque Centrale des Etats de l'Afrique de l'Ouest (BCEAO)	Mr Charles Konan Banny	Governor
	Mr Kablan YAO SAHI	Director
	Mr Alain KOUTANGNI	Assistant to the Governor
	Mr Jean-Charles SERY-KORE	Chief of Service
Banco Central de S. Tome e Principe	Mr Eugénio Lourenço Soares	Deputy Governor
	Mr Alcino Batista de Sousa	Executive Director
Banque de la Republique du Burundi 🧳 🗇	Mr Gregoire Banyiyezako	Governor
Banque des Etats de l'Afrique Centreale (BEAC)	Mr André Míoula Edjomo	Directeur
	Mr Mesmin Koulet-Vickot	Director
	Mr Maurice Moutsinga	Director Banque des Etats de l'Afrique Centreale

AME OF CENTRAL BANK	NAME	DESIGNATION
anco de Moçambique	Dr A A Maleiane	Governor
	Ms Carla de Souza	General Manager
	Mr Carles M Antonio	Senior Official
anque Nationale du Rwanda	Mr François Kanimba	First Vice-Governor
	Mr Celestin Sekagilimana	Head: Economic Studies Division
entral Bank of Lesotho	Mr S M Swaray	Governor
entral Bank of Libya	Dr Ahmed Menesi	Governor
	Mr Yousef Saleh Al-Shanta	Director: Computer Centre
	Mr Saleh Kashtaf	Director: Governor's Office
Central Bank of Egypt 23	Mr Ismail Hassan Mohamed	Governor
Central Bank of Kenya	Mr E Sambili	Deputy Governor
	Mr Joseph K Kinyua	Director of Research
Central Bank of Nigeria 25	Dr J O Sanusi	Governor
	Mr Ernest C Ebi	Deputy Governor
	Dr G E Ukpong	Director
	Dr O J Nnanna	Acting Director
	Mrs J O Ashinze	Deputy Director
	Dr O A Uchendu	Special Assistant to the Governor
	Mr O C Ljaleye	Personal Assistant to the Governor
	Mr M A Isah	Senior Economist
Central Bank of Swaziland 7 (	Mr M G Dlamini	Governor -
	Mrs Vinah N Nkambule	Senior Director: Operations
Central Bank of The Gambia	Mr Momodou Bajo	Governor

ME OF CENTRAL BANK	NAME	DESIGNATION
	Mr Mornodou A Ceesay	Director of Research
	Mr Lang Conteh	Manager: Foreign Department
serve Bank of South Africa	Mr T T Mbowens	Governor
	Dr X P Guma	Deputy Governor
	Ms Z R Matsau	Bank Secretary
	Dr M Mnyande	Deputy Head: Research Department
	Mr M Belle	Research Department
	Ms F S Magubane	Research Department
serve Bank of Zimbabwe 29	Dr L L Tsumba	Governor
	Mr J Mashamba	Executive Assistant to the Governor
rganisation African Unity (OAU)	Ambassador Lawrence Agubuzu	Assistant Secretary General
	Mr Y Elnil	Macro Economics Specialist